RSS

Snow Falling on Cedars

24 Feb

Well, we got skunked. Luckily that is a figure of speech and not a reality. We went coyote hunting and didn’t get anything. In reality, we didn’t even see a dog. The weather had been crappy and we got a late start on the morning, and both of those negative factors contributed to a few of our furry enemies friends living longer than previously hoped for.

On a positive note, I had a really neat experience. Living in the city, there isn’t a lot of time to sit and reflect on things. There is always somewhere to be, something to do, or just too much damn noise to have any serious time for contemplation.

While on our first hill this weekend, I was hunkered under a Cedar tree. Doing my best not to move so as not to scare off any potential victims, and while surveying the beauty of a light snow on God’s creation, I began to think. Not about much in particular. Some about my family, my wife and son. Some about the excitement of my first coyote hunt. Some about all of the things that are going on in my life right now.

Then, just as the calmness that I had been seeking started to slowly move over me, it started to snow. Gently falling from the sky. Not a hard snow or a wet snow, but a gentle dusting of the country side. There I was, rifle laying across my lap, under a Cedar, enjoying the beauty of a snow fall and everything else seemed far away. All of my cares and concerns were gone, and it was just me and the snow.

It’s the simple things that count in life. We didn’t get a coyote this weekend. It might of spoiled it if we did. But the memory of that light snow fall will be forever burned into my memory. Yes, as I sat under that Cedar an eternal truth was reimpressed upon my soul – it’s the simple things that matter. The simple joys and the simple beauties which make all of the difference. That is what life is all about.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 24, 2008 in Follow up, Religion

 

Leave a Reply

 
