RSS

Rethinking Concealed Carry

28 Feb

As mentioned previously about concealed carry (see here and here) the choice of what to carry, revolver or pistol, and what caliber can be daunting if over thought. And it seems like gun manufacturers don’t want to make it any easier. I’ve been doing a lot of reading on the Walther PPS. If you go to the site you’ll notice that it look lot like Smith & Wesson’s site. That’s because Walther has joined with S&W to import and distribute their products in the US>. Anyway, here is what the Walther America site has to say about the PPS:

Walther PPS – More Conceal, Less Carry The Walther Police Pistol Slim (PPS) model narrows the margin between concealment and confidence by packing Walther innovation into an unbelievable 1.04 inch profile. It’s amazing how much professional-grade design actually fits into this lightweight sub-compact. Available in either 9mm or .40S&W (Fall 2007), the PPS packs in more power. All in all, the PPS embodies both the legendary quality and tradition of innovation that make it not just a great pistol — but a great Walther pistol.

So, what exactly are you going to get out of a pistol that is only 1.04 inches wide? Well, obviously it has a single stack magazine and in 9mm you’ll get 6 & 7 round magazines included with an available 8 round mag. In .40S&W you’ll get 5 & 6 round magazines included with an available 7 round mag. Some may not think that that’s enough fire power but you’ll be getting the same number of rounds as any wheel gun, but with added umph. In a self defense situation do you really need more than 6 rounds? Not if they’re well placed, in my opinion.

“But, so far it looks like any other sub-compact pistol that we’ve seen on the marked,” you say. Well, here’s another picture. For decades, Walther has produced the venerable PPK/S. Some are calling the PPS a modern upgrade. To be honest, they’re about the same size. Yep, you’re getting 9mm or .40S&W power in a PPK sized package.

But just how thin is this pistol in comparison to some of the other more popular sub-compacts pistols? Well, I was able to find some pictures on the World Wide Web. On the left is the PPS next to a sub-compact Springfield XD 9, and on the right is the PPS next to a Glock 19.

And if you’re like me, you now want to read more about his gun! Here is a great article from Gunblast.com, and another from Guns & Ammo.

OK, so what does all this mean? Well, to me it means that there is a thinner, lighter pistol that would be easier to conceal on a frame as large as mine. Remember, I’m 6’3″, 255 lbs. It’s hard for me to conceal my wallet, let alone a pistol.

The one draw back to the Walther PPS is the firing mechanism. The PPS is not a pre-cocked striker fired pistol, the same as found in any Glock or Walther’s P99 QA pistol. I’d prefer it to be either a true single action or double action pistol. (As a side note, I have no idea why Walther offers two types of firing mechanisms in their P99’s. The QA is a Glock like mechanism, and the AS is a traditional SA/DA. Then again, maybe it’s a solid marketing ploy to attract shooters from both sides of the gun world: Glock lovers and ever body else.)

I really need to handle one and see how it feels. Anybody near by got one you’d like to go shoot?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2008 in Guns

 

2 responses to “Rethinking Concealed Carry

  1. Bobby G.

    March 6, 2008 at 11:34 am

    As a HUGE fan of the Walther line of firearms (Dad used to have a WW2 vintage P38 – he died -it was sold…I know…what a crime), I’d have to heft the PPS to see if my hand likes it. I know that I’m in love with the P99 (and maybe, someday will have enough $$$ to OWN one, opreferably in .40 cal.), but I also think the older P5 compact looks to be a good pistol (sorry, don’t own one of them either…yet).I DO own a RAM4 P99 paintball marker in .43 cal. (which is a tad heavier than the real deal), but feels just as good in hand, as well as a CP99 BB pistol (both are CO2 powered and have blowback) that serve me well in my basement “CQB range”. (have to practice that point-shooting, don’t we?) I’d like to have the chance to use a P99 compact alongside a PPS to get a good “eval” of them both. I know I do like a longer grip on the PPS (the P99 compact could use a little more grip – add a round and THEN tack on that mag extender).Just my 2 cents worth.B.G.

     
  2. Reese

    March 6, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    Bobby G., welcome to The Dream Extravaganza, I hope that you drop by often. I’m heading to Cabela’s this weekend and I was planning on comparing the P99 Compact to the PPS. I’ll be sure to write up a report on what I find. I love that James Bond began using the P99 in Tomorrow Never Dies (1997)

     

Leave a Reply

 
