RSS

Finally, I Have an Answer!

02 Apr

I’ve been searching the web to know whether or not the S&W M&P is a PCS or FCS fired pistol. If you’ll remember this conversation, I had determined that it was a PCS. Finally, after reading the arguments and people trying to use traditional terminology with modern technology (SA/DA, Striker Fired=DAO) I decided to do what I should have done in the first place: call Smith & Wesson.

It is true that the best sourse for information is a direct sourse. Smith & Wesson assured me that the M&P uses a FULLY COCKED Striker (or close to it), like Springfield’s XD. The Sigma is still a PCS like Glock. The trigger on the M&P may move the striker backward ever-so-slightly before releasing it, but it’s not much. Finally I have my answer!

Why does it matter, you ask? A consistant trigger pull helps with accurate shooting. And while 6.5lbs isn’t “great” according to some, the gun’s not going to go off because a fly farts. Yes, I’ve shot handguns with triggers that sensitive and I hated it. Before I even knew I pulled the trigger the gun went off. No thank you.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 2, 2008 in Guns

 

One response to “Finally, I Have an Answer!

  1. Bobby G.

    April 4, 2008 at 8:14 am

    A buddy of mine had a .380 that was feather “light” on the trigger…and it ALWAYS surprised the piss outta me…not matter HOW many rounds I sent downrange.Never could convince myself otherwise.While some shooters like that, I take exception simply due to safety concerns. That’s my preference.Give me a firm trigger with predictable pounds and travel and I’m a happy camper (and shooter).;)B.G.

     

Leave a Reply

 
