RSS

Registration Woes

18 Apr

OK, so I got accepted into the University of Utah and I’ve met with my advisor and I finished Transfer Student Orientation today so now it’s time to register.

Error – you have a hold on your account, click here to read your hold. *Click* wait, wait, wait, wait, nothing comes up. Please contact the University College for more information.

*Contact the University College* “Um, we don’t know why there’s a hold on your account. It could be several things.”

“Well, I say, I was registered as a student during the Fall 2004 semester at the end of which I had an academic probation (don’t ask) placed on my account. However, I did the required online workshop and had the hold removed.”

“Hmmm, um, well, did you register for classes after that?”

“No, I couldn’t afford the tuition, so I transferred to SLCC to finish my generals, get my A.A. and now I’m transferring back up.”

“Oh, well, since you didn’t register for classes after you completed the workshop, you either forgot to click something to finish the workshop, or the system didn’t accept your workshop results because you stopped taking classes.”

“Well, I did the workshop, and you can’t even tell me what hold I have on my records or why it is that, and I got re-admitted just fine, with an A.A. from another institution, with a great GPA and you’re telling me that I have a two year old hold on my records that you can’t remove without action on my part?”

“Yes.”

“OK, what do I have to do?”

“Well, we can try to have you do the workshop again, but if you’ve already done it once then you can’t do it again, but since the system doesn’t show that you ever took it then there shouldn’t be a problem, and that will immediately remove the hold. So, If that doesn’t work you’ll need to meet with an advisor here in the student center and they can remove the hold. What would you like to do?”

“Sign me up for both! I want to meet with an advisor, the next available slot.”

“That’s Monday at 11:00.”

“Fine, Monday it is. In the mean time, put that workshop on my WebCT so that I can get it out of the way and register before the classes that I want fill up!”

“OK. Also, just so you know, if the online workshop does work, it can take up to 48 hours for the hold to clear. Anything else?”

“Um, immediately remove the hold mean up to 48 hours? Wow, I hope the same doesn’t hold true for Campus Security… never mind, have a nice day.”

Let me tell you why I was so upset. The University of Utah has approximately 27,000 students and classes fill up quickly, especially in the Communication Department. I completed the workshop two+ years ago and it “didn’t count because I wasn’t taking classes at the time”? The only reason I stopped taking classes was because I couldn’t afford it! I had been home from my mission four months and after purchasing a computer, car, and paying my tuition I was a little tapped out (not to mention about $6,000 or so in debt). The Community College was a better fit at the time because it was cheaper, plain and simple.

I know that there are snobs out there who will lift their noses and say *pompous Brit accent* “Oh, the Community College, you must be *gulp* poor. Either that or, ha ha, ha ha, stupid.” Guess what you trust-fund-inheritance-getting-never-had-to-work-for-a-damn-thing-in-your-life-a-hole!, I am poor and happy. Living paycheck to paycheck sucks but I’ve worked for EVERYTHING THAT I HAVE and that makes me feel pretty good.

Back to my main point, I have to jump through just a few more hoops before the liberals on the hill powers that be will allow me to officially become a member of their club pay their salary register for the Fall 2008 semester. Here’s hoping that the classes I want are still available…

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2008 in Rants, School

 

3 responses to “Registration Woes

  1. Jim

    April 18, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    goodluck dude.i remember hating that part of registering for classes.The one that killed me was in order to substitute “Honor’s Calc 1” in place of “Calc 1” as a pre-req for one of my Engineering courses, the registrar’s office wanted me to get 6 different signatures!

     
  2. Tammy

    April 18, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    Reese, it’s not their fault. People can’t help being born into rich families… LOL. Universities think that you owe them everything for allowing you to get your education there when it’s the other way around. If it weren’t for people like you, they wouldn’t be there. Oh well, we’ll get this junk taken care of and hopefully you can register by Sunday night or Monday. You’ll get into the classes you’re supposed to. 😉

     
  3. Bobby G.

    April 21, 2008 at 7:43 am

    Welcome to the wonderful world of BEAUROCRACY…aka the Department of Redundancy Department.Hope it all works out for you soon.B.G.

     

Leave a Reply

 
