RSS

Playing Catch Up: Weekend Review

28 Apr

Just when I think I’m getting better at being consistent with this, I slack off during the weekend. But it was a busy weekend, to be sure. I guess, to some extent, living in the modern age of “when something happens the whole world knows in about 15 seconds,” does make us feel that we need to feed that craze. There are some bloggers who I read daily. It’s silly that I sometimes get annoyed when I go to their site and there is nothing new for the day. Why do I expect them to entertain me? They are giving enough of their free time to be on the old blogasphere. If it doesn’t consume me, why should it consume them.

Yes, the internet can be an addiction, just as anything else. So, for those of you who have been waiting (im)patiently for my latest post, here it is!

Research
Saturday morning I got up and spent the morning with the fam. It was a treat because Usually I have a class on Saturday mornings but now that the semester is over (almost – one more final on Thursday) I’ll get to see them more, which is nice. I then headed off to run an experiment. As you know, I recently applied for my Utah CCW and have been waiting (im)patiently for it to return in the mail. The question then arises, “what do carry?” I’ve gone on and on about that before and you can review for yourselves.

As my experience with hand guns is limited, yet growing, I needed to do some research to see which I preferred, the .40 S&W or the .45 ACP. Research on paper only goes so far. You can read personal reviews, look at terminal ballistics charts, on shot stop percentages, and blah blah blah blah blah until the cows come home, but that’s not going to tell you which is better round for you, i.e. which you shoot better.

I decided that in order to get an accurate assessment of which round felt better to me I would need to shoot the same make and model of pistol. I went to Get Some Guns & Ammo, LLC to rent an XD and do my testing. The range was very nice and afterwards I decided to approach the gun counter to do a little shop talk. As I like to do I played the gun “newbie” and asked some silly questions. I found the counter people to be rather rude, so I don’t think I’ll be going back. In my opinion, if you’re only nice to people who you assume know a lot about firearms, then you’re not helping the gun community out. Being dicks to newbies, and trying to convince them that they have to have an STI Off Duty because other guns aren’t up to snuff, isn’t going to help people who are new to the sport get into the sport.

Back to my research. I found that the .45 ACP was not only easier on the old wrists and was more fun to shoot. And yes, I shot tighter groups with it. What does this mean? I currently own a Springfield XD in .40 S&W (which I talk about often). It is now for sale here. If you know anybody who is interested, please direct them to the link.

Weddings
My cousin Bryce got married on Saturday. His wife, Ashlie, is nice (from the 35 seconds we said hello to her in the wedding line). The wedding line is not the place to “get to know” new members of the family. Those who choose to take that time are disrespectful to the bride and groom who are tired and just want the reception to be over so that they can move on to other things, and the other guests who are eagerly waiting to get to the dessert table.

Church
Church was really good yesterday. A running theme through the service, sunday school, and auxiliary meetings seemed to be Faith. Faith, that all important aspect of any religion. Today we use the words faith and belief interchangeably, but James E. Talmage, who wrote an amazing book called Jesus the Christ describes faith as being belief in action. It is not enough to simply profess faith in Jesus Christ, you have to act accordingly by living your life in harmony with his teachings. Sometimes that can be a hard thing, but it’s worth it.

Somewhere in Time
My wife and I watched this last night. By no means is it the most amazing movie ever, but the story is still nice for the hopeless romantic. Damn the “nifty little change pocket!” Somewhere in Time holds a special place in my heart. I have always loved the sound track but didn’t know why, until a few years ago when my father told me that when I was little and he got up with me in the middle of the night (which he did every night for the first year of my life), he would put this sound track on some nights. It’s amazing what the mind will do and how it will capture memories.

Back to Work
Alright, back to work. No more of this nonsense!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2008 in Follow up, Guns, Life, Movies

 

3 responses to “Playing Catch Up: Weekend Review

  1. Tammy

    April 28, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    You didn’t mention the people at the counter to me besides the guy telling you you’ll like the 45 better. Hmm…people. Nice recap of the weekend.

     
  2. Reese

    April 28, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    Oh… I’ll have to tell you more detail.

     
  3. Bobby G.

    April 29, 2008 at 11:07 am

    The piece most closely associated with the movie SOMEWHERE IN TIME (one of my personal favorites for particular reasons in “another lifetime”) is: Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini (op. 43)…Just in case you were wondering.B.G.

     

Leave a Reply

 
