RSS

And We're Back

06 May

So, posting has been sparse over the last week as I’ve been partying with the boy. Yes, that is correct, he turned one yesterday and we partied all weekend. There is at least one thing to be said about having three sets of grandparents – lots of parties, lots of fun, lots of love.

The past year has been an interesting one for me. The week that my son came home from the hospital was one of the most challenging weeks of my life. Sleep deprived and stressed to the max, I felt as though I wasn’t going to be able to adjust to this new phase in life. Well, I adjusted and I haven’t looked back.

Sometimes people have thoughts of, “oh, life would be so much more simple if…,” but not me. Thinking that way, or giving any ear to those thoughts, is like saying, “I wish you weren’t here” or “I want my life back.” That is selfish. And with children you can’t be selfish. Children only know one thing – how to love. That is why Christ commands us to be like children.

Children are, by nature, loving, caring, trusting, honest, forgiving, kind, joyful and humble. It is only through learning from their parents and their world that they become hateful, apathetic, untrusting, dishonest, unforgiving, mean, melancholy and proud. This is the great key to parenting, as I have found it, treat your children with the characteristics that they are born with and a mighty change will grow in you. You will begin to remember the traits that you were born with, but have forgotten as you’ve grown.

In 2nd Timothy 3:1-5, Paul said,

This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come. For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy, Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good, Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God; Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away.

That readily describes many politicians that I can think of. But getting back to it, children learn to act like this, they are not born with these attributes. A two year old who lies to his parents does so because he has learned to lie. He does not do it with evil intent. Maybe he’s just trying to avoid getting in trouble and he’s learned that being dishonest will help him avoid a harsh word or a slap on the butt. I’m not saying from whom he has learned this but I’m saying from somewhere, TV, friends, siblings, parents.

My son is so kind, so gentle, so loving. He kisses or hugs, or tries to kiss or hug, every child that he sees that is relatively his size. If a child is set down to play with him, the first thing he does is show them love to let them know that they are welcome in his toy circle. I’m sure that he will go through his “mine” stage, but does he really have to? I’ll report more on that when we get there.

The first year has been wonderful and has gone quickly. I am told that it continues to go faster and faster. Congratulations, my son, on a wonderful first year.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 6, 2008 in Family, Life

 

One response to “And We're Back

  1. Bobby G.

    May 7, 2008 at 7:58 am

    That quote from 2 Timothy sure sounds like MY neighborhood (as well as a lot MORE of the world), and having studied the end times to no small degree, I know this to be all too true.One year old, eh? Now you’re into those “terrible 2s”Nice to see a great example of loving, caring parents..reminds me of my good old days.Enjoy.B.G.

     

Leave a Reply

 
