RSS

Another Whiney Athlete

14 May

OK. It’s nothing new when an athlete whines that they’re not making enough money. And I guess even class acts like Brian Urlacher are no exception. He has the credentials to make the demands :

  • 6’4″, 258lbs
  • 6x Pro Bowl selection 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006
  • 4x All-Pro selection (2001, 2002, 2005, 2006)
  • 2000 Male Athlete of the Year (UNM)
  • 2000 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year
  • 2001 Football Digest Defensive POY
  • 2005 AP NFL Defensive Player of the Year
  • Defensive Player-of-the-Week (4)
  • Special Teams Player of the Week
  • NFL Rookie Defensive Player of the Month (10/2000)
  • Brian Piccolo Award (2007)
  • Led the NFL in fumble return yards in 2001
  • Most tackles in a season (UNM)
  • Most tackles in a season (Bears)

Now, according to the story, five years ago (2003) he agreed to a 9 year $56 Million contract. That is a long contract worth a lot of money. Brian has been worth every penny (see the list above) and is the anchor of the Chicago Bears’ defense.

So, does it bother me that he’s asking for more money to finish his contract? Not really. Here’s why, he “…believes he has outperformed his deal and is frustrated that he’s no longer the highest-paid player on his team. According to NFLPA documents, eight Bears earned more than he did last season.

“It’s easy for people to criticize me for wanting (a new deal), and I understand that it’s a contract and I signed it,” Urlacher said. “But this is the NFL, and if I’d signed it and I’d played like (expletive), they’d have cut me or tried to get me to take less. In my mind, there’s no difference. If they can ‘break’ a contract, I have a right to ask for more if I play well enough.

“When I signed my deal the salary cap was $75 million. It’s, what, $116 million now? Things have changed.

Is that they way that you treat the rock of your defense? Chicago, what are you thinking? So why write this? What makes this news worthy? What Brian Urlacher said next.

“I understand that all of this, to a normal person, sounds crazy. It’s all relative to what you do. If you’re a chair-builder, and you feel you’re the best at what you do, and other chair-builders are making more than you, then you’d want to be paid more, too.”

What? A normal person? What does that mean? Oh, he must mean all of us “little people” who have jobs to do, but might feel that we don’t get paid enough. It sure would be nice to be able to walk into my bosses office, I mean send my agent into my bosses office to negotiate my next pay raise.

Brian, I hope that you get your money. I hope that you get so much money that your team continues to suffer offensively because you can’t attract any talent. The Bears don’t have a Quarterback worth mentioning. Your only decent receiver left for Minnesota (go Vikings!). Cedric Benson is a joke. Not to mention you’ve got an arthritic back and recently had neck surgery.

Whatever. I guess Favre was one of the last of a dying breed.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2008 in Eyes+Sharp Stick, Rants, Sports

 

2 responses to “Another Whiney Athlete

  1. Cole

    May 15, 2008 at 10:56 am

    A class act like Brian Urlacher? Wow, correct me if I’m wrong but the last time I checked acting like an overly – bloated – millionaire didn’t classify one, even the mightly Urlacher as a class act! And what “credentials” are you speaking of? Just because someone is credited for performing admirably at his or her job, even if you are the Rookie of the Year or AP NFL Defensive Player of the Year doesn’t make them worthy of not fulfilling their contractual agreements. I don’t care if your “overperforming”. Heck I don’t even care that your only the 8th highest paid member of Chicago’s MULTI – MILLIONAIRE club! I don’t know what’s worse! Our society actually believing individuals like Urlacher are really worth 6.2 million dolors a year. Or that “professionals” such as Urlacher truly acting like they are worth that! As far as I’m concerned the only “rock” Brian Urlacher has is the one he calls a head! The fact that this so called “class – act” would even entertain the notion that some how we the “normal people” of society, of whom are directly responsible for his outlandish paycheck are this stupid, only serves to solidify my beleif in him being any thing but a “class – act”!! After all when was the last time you ever heard of a “chair-builder” actually not showing up for work because he/she beleived they are underpaid, not respected, or under appreciated? Not to mention the shock that one without question might feel after discovering they were only the 4th highest paid chair-maker in the county? You see the problam is this. Us “normal people” don’t enjoy the same perks or choices Urlacher and the rest his class enjoys. We don’t have the chance nor luxery to “hold out” when it comes to providing for ourselves and/or our families. Most of us, chair-builders included, can’t make such a financial demand because most of us don’t have 50 million dollars already in the bank! Urlacher’s whole premise and justification for such an outlook is so far removed from anything remotely close to “CLASS” its not even funny. Urlacher and the rest of these so called “professionals” need to get a clue and realize that without the rest of us concubines flipping the bill you and your dumb ass would be stuck in New Mexico of all places pumping MY GAS!!

     
  2. Reese

    May 15, 2008 at 11:08 am

    Ding Ding Ding! We have a winner! This is the response that I was hoping to get! After re-reading my post, I wasn’t angry enough. Way to call me out, Hansen.

     

Leave a Reply

 
