RSS

What's in your pocket?

03 Jul

My buddy Logan invited all of us to be involved in this little experiment. Stop what you’re doing, take everything out of your pockets and take a picture of it. Then either post a blog about it or send me the photo. Here’s my pic:


The inventory:

  • Wallet containing various cards (credit/debit), drivers license, temple recommend, CFP, etc.
  • Phone. It’s not fancy.
  • Keys. Who doesn’t have keys?
  • Dual blade knife, which I got for my birthday (Yes, it says Smith & Wesson on it).
  • Flash Drive containing ALL of my important documents.
  • Springfield XD45 Compact. Yes, it’s a little large for a pocket so usually it’s in my backpack (only until I can afford a proper holster).
 
14 Comments

Posted by on July 3, 2008 in Blogging, Guns, Life, Lists, Random

 

14 responses to “What's in your pocket?

  1. Traci

    July 3, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    Are you seriously going to pack heat…like everywhere you go? Even around my kid? I’m seriously asking.

     
  2. James

    July 4, 2008 at 7:30 am

    Our home is a gun free zone.Please never bring a weapon here.There will NEVER be any Cassity family gatherings to which guns are to be brought. I want this clearly understood. Notwithstanding your training accidents happen. Were one to occur you would never forgive yourself. Think about the pain and suffering it would cause loved ones.This goes beyond the right to carry a concealed weapon.Informing loved ones of a potential danger, such as a weapon, especially where children and grandchildren are involved, is the essence of courtesy, respect and common sense.There is no compromise on this Reese.Jim & Sherri

     
  3. Reese

    July 4, 2008 at 8:39 am

    I believe that I may have inadvertently sent up some red flags. I understand that this is a serious topic with a lot of emotion involved. Please know that I have never brought a firearm into any Cassity home and never would without speaking to the owner first. I would never take a firearm into anyone’s home with out their express permission and I hope that would be understood – it’s just common sense and it’s also the law. The topic of safety is a concern that we all share. Please know that I take all appropriate safety measures to protect Daniel. I love my son very, very much and will do everything that I can to protect him and eventually educate him so that he can also protect himself.Since the safest way to carry a concealed weapon is in a sturdy holster, many times when I leave the house I do not have it with me because I do not yet have a proper holster.I apologize for the alarm and hopefully this puts out any fires.

     
  4. Traci

    July 4, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Hey Reese, I hope you know that I have absolutely no hard feelings whatsoever re: this gun situation. My questions were really just questions because 1) I was curious and 2) just wanted to be informed.

     
  5. Traci

    July 4, 2008 at 10:00 am

    Hey Reese, I hope you know that I have absolutely no hard feelings whatsoever re: this gun situation. My questions were really just questions because 1) I was curious and 2) just wanted to be informed.

     
  6. Traci

    July 4, 2008 at 10:01 am

    Technical difficulty here…didn’t mean to post that comment twice.

     
  7. Reese

    July 4, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Thanks, Traci. I figured that you were just asking but to keep all of the bases covered…It was good to see you all last weekend. Happy Fourth of July!

     
  8. James

    July 4, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    Thank you so much for the clarifications and understanding of our concerns.Our past experiences with tragic accidents and the deaths and near fatal injuries of friends make us very sensitive especially where loved ones are involved. Hope you and Tammy and Daniel have a great Fourth of July.Jim & Sherri

     
  9. Reese

    July 4, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    All is well in Zion. 🙂

     
  10. Logan

    July 5, 2008 at 10:56 am

    Remind me not to bring up guns on your blog. That went from zero to a fervor rather quick. I picked up a bunch of x-police issue holsters in Denver last summer at a garage sale. You’re welcome to have any of them if they fit your gun properly.

     
  11. Logan

    July 5, 2008 at 10:58 am

    And I don’t mean that with any offense to anyone else who has commented on this blog as I truly respect the opinions of all.

     
  12. Reese

    July 6, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    Guns are a favorite topic here, Logan. Thanks for the offer, I’ll be in touch!

     
  13. anonymous

    January 25, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    http://poetnthepawnbroker.blogspot.com/2008/08/things-without-which-i-am-not-dressed.html

    BTW, in reference to your other commenters, their homes and/or businesses are not places I would visit, or want to. Everyone has a right to his/her own opinions and policies, but theirs are truly (and I mean this earnestly and with all due respect) ignorant.

    jtc

     

Leave a Reply

 
