RSS

Thanksgiving

27 Nov

As I sit here at the end of a successful Thanksgiving, I wonder at that word, “successful.” What must a day contain to make it a “successful” Thanksgiving. I got to spend the day with loved ones, and especially the one’s I love most – my wife and son. I am thankful for them, for the joy that they give me each day. I’m thankful that all my son has to do is smile at me and everything that is wrong with this world disappears, if only for a moment.

I’m thankful for the warm embrace of my loving wife. How her tender words calm my soul and how a quick look from her will gently but firmly put me in my place. I’m thankful for the opportunity to worship my God according to the dictates of my own conscious and that I live in a country that allows all people the same freedom.

I’m grateful for Jesus Christ. I’m grateful that He took upon Himself the sins of the world, my sins, so that I have the opportunity to return to live with Him again. That return is contingent upon obedience to the laws and ordinances of the Gospel which thankfully have been restored, in their fullness, upon the earth today.

I’m thankful to live in a country where I have the opportunity to receive any amount of education that I desire. That knowledge flows unrestrained, as long as we are willing to work for it and earn it properly. I am grateful for the freedoms that I have. Though our Constitutional Republic has ceased to function as originally intended, we are still far better than the majority of countries on this planet.

I am thankful for my health. I am thankful for my employment. I am thankful that I am poor, because it keeps me humble. And yet, I am not as poor. I have been blessed to have been born in a good land, where food is plentiful, where I have a roof over my head, where science and technology have increased the ease of life.

I am thankful that happiness is still found in the simple things – friends, family, being kind to others.

Paul taught in Ephesians 5:20, “Giv[e] thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.” Alma taught in Alma 7:23, “… ye should be humble, and be submissive and gentle; easy to be entreated; full of patience and long-suffering; being temperate in all things; being diligent in keeping the commandments of God at all times; asking for whatsoever things ye stand in need, both spiritual and temporal; always returning thanks unto God for whatsoever things ye do receive.”

It has been a good Thanksgiving. Hopefully we can all do a little bit more to keep the intent of this day with us every day.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 27, 2008 in Family, Holiday, Life, Religion

 

One response to “Thanksgiving

  1. faith

    December 1, 2008 at 9:10 am

    I am thankful to have you as a son, that I have a daughter-in-law and a grand-son. I am thankful that you are solid in the gospel of Jesus Christ. I am thankful you are a part of my life. Papa

     

Leave a Reply

 
