RSS

North American Arms

19 Dec

I’m not sure what it is, maybe novelty, but something interests me about North American Arms. But let me be more specific: their mini-revolvers interest me. I applaud them for their ingenuity in producing the .25 NAA and the .32 NAA weapons systems, though I would probably never purchase one (but accepting one as a gift would be great).

But their mini-revolvers – there’s just something about them. They shoot either .22 Short, .22LR, or .22 Mag.

I don’t think that I would ever carry one of these for personal protection. In fact, I’m pretty sure that I wouldn’t. They’re more of a novelty gun. But they’re a fun novelty. Something you could clip on your key chain and leave for the ultra desperate “just in case.”

The .22 Short is an especially fun novelty because of the history behind the cartridge. The .22 Short was developed by Smith & Wesson in 1857 and was the first metallic cartridge produced in America. It was produced for self defense in Smith & Wesson’s Model 1. Surprisingly, the standard velocity .22 short launches a 29 grain bullet at 1,045 fps with 70 ft. lbs. of energy from a 22″ rifle barrel.

So, which NAA Mini would I like to own? Well, it would have to be one in .22 Mag. That leaves these two models, the .22 Mag and the Pug. The Pug, seen here on the right, had a larger grip that probably is easier to hold on to. Could you imagine trying to hold on to the other? I can’t. I’d like to test one of these before actually purchasing one.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 19, 2008 in Guns, Local, Special Interest, Tech

 

Leave a Reply

 
