RSS

What Do They Ever Do For You?

21 May

Often times, people say that you should have no loyalty to a phone company. I, however, hold a loyalty to a phone company – Sprint. Why, you ask? Well, let me tell you.

When I returned from Ukraine in 2004, I needed a cell phone. I began shopping around, looking at plans, and had decided to go with AT&T. When I approached the dealer I was told that, since I had almost zero credit, AT&T wanted an $800 collateral payment that was refundable after one year of service. I literally laughed out loud. $800 to sign into a two year contract? Wow, I guessed that they didn’t want my service.

I walked across the hall to the Sprint store. Sprint only wanted a $150 collateral payment. I signed up immediately. One year later, Sprint gave me a $150 credit. On my 2 year anniversary, Sprint gave me another $150 credit, so I renewed my service.

I’ve now been with Sprint for five years. Tams and I recently (May 4th) upgraded our phones and renewed our contract. On the advice of my father-in-law, I called Sprint to see if they had any promotions to offer me for five years of loyal, on-time payments.

Dominique, the Customer Service Rep who handled my call, was very quick to help. Not only was she helpful, she was upbeat and friendly! (On second thought, I’ve never had a problem with Sprint Customer Service, EVER) She moved our free night and weekend minutes to begin at 6:00pm for free (previously it was 7:00), credited our current bill $30, and gave us Sprint’s Data Plus Pack for free (internet, email, television and radio).

But that’s not all. I was so excited about the deal that we just got, that I failed to inquire sufficiently concerning the details of the Data Plus Pack. When I called customer service again, Brandon answered. Again, very upbeat and friendly. While on the call, Brandon informed us that if we renewed our contract (our three week old contract) he could give us a $70 credit on each line, $140 total. That takes care of our current bill and gives us a $40 credit toward next month!

So, in one day, we got our nights and weekends moved from 7:00pm to 6:00pm, we got a free data package for email, internet, tv and radio, and received $170 in credits! HOW CAN YOU BEAT THAT?! Short answer – YOU CAN’T. That is how you earn customer loyalty. That is how Sprint has earned my customer loyalty.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 21, 2009 in Local, Money, Tech

 

2 responses to “What Do They Ever Do For You?

  1. Bob G.

    May 27, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Reese:Keep watching your bill…I say this because SPRINT is PAYING THE BILL for having LAW-ENFORCEMNT change their 800MHz radio frequencies (due to “interference”), and that was mandated back in 2004…but NOW they’re finally getting around to changing them over.Just wanted to pass that along…in case you wonder “WHY?” in the future.B.G.

     
  2. Reese

    May 27, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Thanks for the heads up. I watch my bill pretty close and I’ll post if I find anything out of the ordinary.

     

Leave a Reply

 
