RSS

New Scam

12 Aug

No, I’m not talking about another Obama government program. At 6:00am I got this email:

Hello,
Sorry I didn’t inform you about my traveling to UK for a Seminar, am presently in London i am stranded here because i misplaced my wallet on my way to the hotel where my money,and other valuable things were kept.

I will like you to assist me with a soft loan urgently with the sum of $2,500 Us Dollars to sort-out my hotel bills and get myself back home. I will appreciate whatever you can afford, i’ll pay back as soon as i return.

I had no option than to send you an e-mail since I have exceeded my spending limit in the hotel and I have no money to call you. It will cost me 80 pounds to make/receive phone calls and I don’t have such money right now. I can only contact you through my e-mail for now.

It’s impossible for me to access my bank account from here, that why i need your help. The safest and fastest way for you to help me out is by sending the money through Western union.

Kindly let me know if you can be of help.so that I can send you the Details to use when sending the money through western union.

It sounded extremely fishy – mostly because it supposedly came from a friend of mine who was just recently in Hawaii, no the UK. The other reason that it sounded fishy was because of a similar situation that Joe Huffman had in Idaho: send money Western Union to get someone out of jail.

Get the word out – there’s a new scam on the loose!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 12, 2009 in International, Local, Money, People, Special Interest

 

Leave a Reply

 
