RSS

Pistol Marksmanship

02 Sep

This semester I’m taking a Pistol Marksmanship class at the U. Last night we had our first shooting session. I did not do very well. I was concentrating so hard on my breathing, sight alignment and trigger control, that I let some other very important things slip.

You see, before last night I’d never shot a pistol from a bench rest. Here are a list of problems that I discovered and will correct next time I’m on the powder range (we have a small range here at the U with only 5 stations. Does anybody have $7 Million that they’d like to give to the University of Utah so that they can build a new Naval Science building with a 15 station range?), since we shoot air pistol and .22LR.

  • I need to raise the table. I’m 6’3″ and the table was set for someone who is 5’8″
  • I shouldn’t rest my elbows on the table. This leads to my next point
  • Lock my wrists. Resting my elbows on the table put my wrists in a bent, unlocked position and it was difficult to control recoil.

I made two of three corrections on my last 5 shots of the night – picked up my elbows and locked my wrists but the table was still low so my shoulders were at a funky angle. In the end my corrections came too little too late, my grouping was huge and I’ll have to use the rest next time. My arc of movement isn’t very large – it’s very, very small in fact. I think what I need to go is go practice outside of class.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2009 in School

 

2 responses to “Pistol Marksmanship

  1. BobG

    September 2, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Sounds like you need a five inch thick pad to set on the table.

     
  2. Bob G.

    September 3, 2009 at 8:48 am

    Rese:How about trying a "groucho"?(police crouch position)Or perhaps try a slight change in gripping the pistol.(use grip pressure w/ the MIDDLE FINGER primarily, and let the other fingers go along for the ride)That WILL control recoil a bit and allow you faster target reacquisition.Just some random thoughts.Happy Shooting!

     

Leave a Reply

 
