RSS

The Greatest of Our Generation?

25 Nov

I keep seeing trailers for the upcoming film Brothers, starring Toby Maguire, Natalie Portman and Jake Gyllenhaal.  I really don’t have any interest in the film, but one of the trailers said something interesting – “Three of the greatest actors of our generation….” 

That made me stop.  Really?  These three are some of the greatest of our (my) generation?  Really?  Are all of the actors of my generation that bad?  Only one of the three of them has won a major award, Natalie Portman.  And no, it wasn’t for her fascinating work in the Star Wars Prequel Trilogy. 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 25, 2009 in Celebutards, Movies

 

3 responses to “The Greatest of Our Generation?

  1. Jim and Sherri

    November 26, 2009 at 11:07 am

    Amen.

     
  2. linda

    December 1, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    I think the movie looks really good actually…I think you should see and not judge it by the trailer. I think there's so much more to it. I just read this review: KTVK- TV review: “Thoroughly enjoyed it. Very surprised by the intensity; noted it wasn't what he expected given trailers, etc. Thought Natalie's subtly was superb and in his interview loved her – called her a class act.”

     
  3. Anonymous

    December 12, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    I actually went to see it and was genuinely moved. It's a very emotional film with intense performances and great direction. I'm not crazy about the Spiderman series myself but Tobey Maguire really proved himself as a "great" actor in this.

     

Leave a Reply

 
