RSS

Expanding My Home Improvement Skills

15 Feb

On Saturday our dryer stopped working properly.  The drum would spin but we weren’t getting any heat.  Since I discovered this at about 10pm I decided to wait until today to fix it.

After reviewing what the possible causes could be, I decided to get brave and take the back panel off to investigate.  After looking around a bit and thinking to myself, “what the heck is that?” several times, I found the heating element and removed it. 

Low and behold, a broken coil on the heating element. 

After a little bit of checking I found a local shop that had a new heating element in stock.

$56 later I brought it home and installed it.  The dryer is working fine.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 15, 2010 in Life, Random

 

2 responses to “Expanding My Home Improvement Skills

  1. Bob G.

    February 17, 2010 at 10:59 am

    Reese:
    Handy IS…as handy DOES.

    WTG!
    (nice job)

    We had a “no-heat” problem here too a while back, but all it was for us was a connection to one of the (three) thermostats that fried itself away.
    I spliced on a new spade connector, & been G-T-G ever since.
    (then again, I used to fix all these dang things…in one of many past lives, lol)

    There will be some problems that might require a “pro” to fix, but most things are just some common sense, coupled with investigative skills…that’s all.
    Saves a nice chunk of paycheck, too.

    Remember, if the women don’t find you handsome, they should at LEAST find you HANDY…!

    🙂

     
    • Reese

      February 17, 2010 at 11:57 am

      If it would have been one of the thermostats, I’d have been out of my league. BTW, how can you tell when a thermostat is fried? I mean, does it blacken and change color, etc?

       

Leave a Reply

 
