RSS

Angry vs. Sad Music

27 Feb

I went through a phase (read depression) several years ago and the only thing that kept me sane, for the most part, was angry music.  Groups like Stabbing Westward, The Union Underground, Tool, Godsmack, Disturbed, Guns ‘N Roses, The Offspring, Metallica, and some more that I can’t recall right now, really got me through some of my darkest days.

Today, the groups have changed a little: Nickelback, Staind, Disturbed, Metallica, Evanescence, The Offspring, and some others.  Yet recently, I’ve noticed something interesting.  I’ve been listening to a lot of Staind and mixed in with the angry screams of songs like Mudshovel, Price to Play, The Way I Am, Please, How About You and For You, are softer, sad songs like Tangled Up In You, Could It Be, It’s Been a While, Epiphany and Zoe Jane.

The mixture of gotta-get-it-out-anger/frustration and gentle-yet-still-sad music seems to lift me out of my funk more quickly than straight angry music.

What about you?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 27, 2010 in Life, Music

 

One response to “Angry vs. Sad Music

  1. BobG

    February 28, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    Not much into angry metal music, myself. Most of my music is older, and in various genres. I tend to put together playlists according to my mood, and they can be somewhat strange looking. I usually list the top ten in the playlist of the day in my posts, if you are interested.

     

Leave a Reply

 
