RSS

Interpretation

21 May

D is 3 years old and he absolutely loves movies, just like his dad.  I’m pretty sure if we would let him, he’d just sit and watch movies all day.  As we watch various shows, randomly he’ll point to the television and say, “look, it’s dad.”  Here are some of the identities that have been attributed to me:

There are others that I can’t remember right now.  The question is, how do I interpret this?  Mr. Incredible – okay, I get that one.  Brigham Young – well, I did have a beard for a while.  It wasn’t anything near the size of Brigham’s though.  And Darth Vader, really?  What have I done to traumatize my son into thinking I’m a Dark Lord of the Sith?

Maybe he sees me as large and powerful.  That’s a common theme that can be seen in these three people.  I think I’ll interpret it that way.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 21, 2010 in Family, Life

 

2 responses to “Interpretation

  1. Bob G.

    May 22, 2010 at 9:33 am

    Reese:
    Goin’ out on a limb here, but stick with me on this one…

    In the DARTH VADER analogy, maybe D’s got the whole “able to be REDEEMED” thing down at his age?

    I mean, Vader WAS saved into re-embracing the “Force”.
    And Dad has also been “saved” (through Christ our Savior)…
    There IS a parallel.
    But I don’t think you were off doing the Emperor’s will in the “before-time”.

    Sound about right?
    (and don’t use that lightsaber to slice the bread)

    😉

     
    • Reese

      May 23, 2010 at 11:51 pm

      Bob G.

      I hadn’t thought of that. Maybe he’s caught on already – I mean, he does say his own prayers at night 😉 (that credit goes to his mother)

       

Leave a Reply

 
