RSS

Unemployed, Again

19 May

It’s said that the quickest way to become employed after becoming unemployed is to tell people so that you’ve got help finding employment again. 

I have become unemployed, again.  The hows and the whys are not important.  Simply stated Island View felt that my services were no longer needed.  Hours of debate could be sent back and forth as to the correctness or incorrectness of their decision, but the bottom line is that the decision has been made and won’t be reversed.

At a recent job fair I learned that, in a recession, 10% of the jobs available are in what is called the “hidden labor market.”  These are jobs that are available but not placed out for public notice.  I also learned that randomly submitting applications online will give you a 1 in 400 chance at getting an interview, where as working with people that you know gives you a 1 in 4 chance. 

I am unemployed, oh world of the internets!  I am happy to give my resume to anyone who wants it.  My email address is reese.cooper at gmail dot com.  My LinkedIn.com profile can be found here.  An online copy of my resume can be seen here.  My areas of interest include marketing, public relations, human resources, and various other fields.  If you know of any work, or know someone who knows of any work, please help me get in touch with them. 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 19, 2011 in Life

 

One response to “Unemployed, Again

  1. BobG

    May 25, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    These days it’s getting almost impossible to find a decent job unless you know someone who can tell you about an opening, and/or put in a good word for you. Good luck, and I hope you find something soon.

     

Leave a Reply

 
