RSS

Windows 7 and Service Pack 1

29 Jun

Apparently there’s a recent issue with Windows 7 64-bit systems and installing Service Pack 1.  When the notice popped up that the install was available I figured, why not.  Eh, wrong! 

Window would not start up.  I ran through the recovery options, nothing.  Tried a system restore, nothing.  I jumped on my laptop and started searching for an answer to what was happening and apparently there is an issue with 64-bit systems installing the SP1 update.  It’s a recent issue because we’d installed SP1 on this the desktop before we had our previous technical difficulties.

I am now in the middle of restoring my computer from a system image that I made on my backup hard drive and I hope it works.  More news later…

Update – Didn’t work.  Looks like I’ll be doing a clean install of Windows.  Luckily all my files are backed up (at least they should be).  Here goes nothing.

Update #2 – Apparently the issue was compounded because my graphics card was on the fritz.  Tore it out.  Clean install worked.  This time, the system image restore also worked so no files lost.  All in all the process was fairly smooth (once I figured out why the restore was failing).  I’ll be avoiding Service Pack 1 for Windows 7 64-bit for now. 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 29, 2011 in Tech, WTF?

 

Leave a Reply

 
