RSS

Home Entertainment System

26 Nov

I’ve been wanting to build a home entertainment system for a while.  The difficult part is selecting the hardware that will act as the brain of this entertainment nervous system.  I pretty much had it narrowed down to Microsoft’s XBOX 360, but now I’m not so sure.  Here are the current list of cons to the XBOX:

  • In order to stream Netflix, you must also have an XBOX Live Gold subscription.
  • It does not upscale ripped movies. I’ve ripped several of my movies to my hard drive and would love to watch them on my TV via an XBOX.  However, since they’re all reduced in size (for space) they’ll be played back in the reduced format.  The PS3 will automatically upscale those files to 1080p HD.
  • It does not play Blu-ray without purchasing a separate drive.  The PS3 plays them out of the box.

Also, this weekend I’ve been playing with my brother-in-law’s Logitech Revue with Google TV.  It’s pretty sweet.

Oh  yeah, and I’m not a gamer so that does not factor into my decision.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 26, 2011 in Tech

 

Leave a Reply

 
