RSS

What would you do?

11 Jan

Ladies, I want to hear from you on this. MSN reports:

[Allyn Rose,] [t]he 24-year-old Miss DC[,] plans to undergo a double mastectomy after she struts in a bikini and flaunts her roller skating talent. She is removing both breasts as a preventative measure to reduce her chances of developing the disease that killed her mother, grandmother and great aunt.

As a man, I don’t really have a way to understand what goes in to making this decision because I don’t have breasts and I’m not a woman. I don’t even have a valid comparison. Initially, I tried to compare this to a man with a family history of testicular cancer having his testicles removed as a preventative measure. However, that is not really a fair comparison.

Ms. Rose is a beauty queen and one result of her competing in beauty pagents is she is objectified and sexualized. Breasts are hyper-sexualized in American culture and can be an important part of a woman’s identity, whether as an object of desire of their partner or as a mother and everywhere in between.

I do not want to get into a discussion about the rights/wrongs of Americans’ social views about breasts. I want to hear your reaction to a piece of news like this. Is your reaction to this news similar to the reaction that you had when Christina Applegate had her double mastectomy? Why or why not? Do you have a family member or close friend who has had a similar experience? How was your reaction to that news different or similar to these other stories?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 11, 2013 in Education, Life, People

 

One response to “What would you do?

  1. Tammy

    January 11, 2013 at 10:24 am

    I didn’t remember that Christina Applegate had a double mastectomy, but in that case, the cancer was there and so she acted and had it removed. My honest feeling is if it’s not broken, don’t fix it. Allyn Rose may get cancer – she may not. Could she not get MRI’s and mammograms the same as Christina Applegate? In the end, she should do whatever she feels she has to. I really don’t think it was fair of her father to tell her if she doesn’t have it done, she’s going to die. I don’t know what it’s like to lose a mother or spouse to cancer so I can’t say what she is doing is right or wrong in response to that experience.

    My grandmother had breast cancer, had a mastectomy, the cancer came back and that’s what took her – at age 85. I don’t feel a need to go and get a preventative mastectomy myself. I don’t live in fear that I may get it one day.

     

Leave a Reply

 
