RSS

Quote of the Day – @Sprint

28 Mar

I was discussing the new T-Mobile UnContract plans with my brother-in-law. We’ve both been with Sprint for a long time and for a while it made sense because most of the extended family was on Sprint (free calls anytime), two families have jumped to Verizon, another to Cricket, and the question of “why do we stay with Sprint?” is starting to creep up.

Sprint likes to tout their “Unlimited Everything” plan as being the cheapest for what you get. I priced a plan at Verizon with 4GB of data (I’ve been monitoring our data usage (mine and my wife’s) and 4GB is plenty for us) and found that we would have more coverage, faster data speeds, and a larger choice of phones for the same price if we switched to Verzion.

Danny’s statement was compelling: “As it stands I’m considering switching to Verizon or ATT in a year after my contract is up. Sprint appears to lack the capital to install a competitive LTE system, but doesn’t mind charging like they have one.”

Isn’t this why SoftBank aquired 70% of Sprint? Apparently the purchase hasn’t been approved yet. And even if/when it is, how long will it take for Sprint to “install a competitive LTE system?”

I keep asking Sprint to give me a reason to say. So far they haven’t. So why haven’t I jumped ship? Perhaps their marketing has worked on me. Right now, my data is unlimited. Why would I want to limit that? On the other hand, if I’m over purchasing…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 28, 2013 in Tech

 

Leave a Reply

 
